Why I’m almost embarrassed to be a New Zealander.

Its because the policy to eliminate community transmission of the SARS-CoV-2 virus is that good.

Bruce Hudson
2 min readSep 27, 2020
My local beach, Mitimiti, Northland, New Zealand. © Bruce Hudson, 2019.

Our total death count for our entire country of 5 million is 25.

Not per week.

Twenty-five Covid-19 related deaths ever.

That’s fewer than Hawaii (120 deaths from a population of 1.4 million). Or the Isle of Wight (86 deaths from a population of fewer than 150,000).

Scotland and Northern Ireland say that they are also pursuing the elimination of community transmission of the SARS-CoV-2 virus, but they haven’t done what’s necessary yet. In the main, for most of the world, such a notion is off the radar.

Instead, I hear BS about the freedom to not wear masks. How about the freedom that comes without having to live with the virus? Because that’s what I have got right now in New Zealand. And because we have no community transmission, ALL local restrictions have been removed, except Auckland, which will have them removed in a few day's time. So I have no mandated requirement to wear a mask. No limit in crowd sizes. Nor am I limited in what shop or service provider I can visit.

--

--

Bruce Hudson

Navigates new worlds where substance should always beat effervescence, but doesn’t. I undermine misinformation whenever practical. @BHudsonWrites enzman.com